About Us

Our Area of Faith Community

Light of the World Area Faith Community

Our Area Faith Community (AFC) is comprised of 5 parishes including St. Catherine: Our Lady of Victory – Lucan, St. Anne – Wabasso, St. Mathias – Wanda, and St. Mary – Seaforth.

Website: www.lowafc.org 

Our Parish History

In 1884, thirteen families of Catholic faith gathered to build the first Catholic Church in Redwood Falls. Incorporated in February 1891, the church then grew to 75 families.  In 1914 a new church was built at the corner of Lincoln and Chestnut where today stands the Redwood Falls Public Library. This church was then named after Saint Catherine of Alexandria, Patroness of Catholic Education. From these humble beginnings to the vibrant community of Christians gathered today at The Church of St. Catherine, our heritage springs forth a God-empowered, Christ-centered, and Spirit-driven community of Catholic believers.

In the summer of 1981, with the parish of St. Catherine’s growing to 540 families, construction on a new church at our current site began.  Emphasizing the importance of community and education, along with the new worship space  the building featured an education center, social hall with kitchen, nursery, and a rectory. Mass was first celebrated in this church on June 12, 1982.

As God continued to bless our parish with thriving worship, education, social and community ministries, our parish was called to build an additional space to accommodate a new worship space, administration offices, and additional classrooms for growing education needs. Under the leadership of Father Germain Rademacher, in April of 2001, our 654-family parish broke ground on what is currently our St. Catherine’s Catholic Church today.  The new worship space was dedicated June 30, 2002 by then Bishop John Nienstedt, and the former worship space was named Rademacher Hall. Rademacher Hall adjoins a new kitchen, and serves as an educational and social gathering space for fellowship and community.